Acquired in 2009, this preserve on Eastport’s 71-acre Treat Island is prominently visible from Eastport, Lubec, and from New Brunswick’s Campobello Island. The island features a mix of open meadow and spruce forest, and offers stunning views, bold headlands, and gravel beaches. In addition to its scenic beauty, Treat Island also boasts an intriguing human history.
Most visitors to Treat Island are drawn to the beaches and meadows on its southern side. The beaches offer relatively easy landing areas for kayaks and small boats, while the meadows provide good vantage points to view resident wildlife, such as white-tailed deer, bald eagles, and northern harriers. For those interested in exploring the island’s interior, a short path leads from the beach on the southwestern side of the island to the Allan monument.
Recorded history on Treat Island dates back to 1784, with the establishment of a trading post by Revolutionary War Colonel John Allan. In the 1840s, the island became part of the region’s fish canning industry under the ownership of Upham Stowers Treat. During the US Civil War in the 1860s, an artillery battery and barracks were built to guard the Western Passage of Passamaquoddy Bay. By 1935, the US Government had acquired Treat Island in preparation for the development of the Passamaquoddy Tidal Power Project. The project was discontinued after only a year, but during that time a clay-cored, rock-filled dam was constructed between Treat and Dudley Islands. Today, the International Boundary Commission maintains range marks on the island, and the Army Corps of Engineers operates a marine concrete testing station on 3 acres on the island’s northwest side.
————— Preserve Boundary
Preserve information & guidelines
- Fires By Permit Only - Maine State Law
- Contact Maine Forest Service at 207-827-1800 for Permit
- Keep All Fires Below High Tide Line
- Do Not Cut or Break Tree Limbs, Dead or Alive
- Leave No Fire Unattended
- Completely Extinguish All Fires
- Foot Traffic Only
- Carry Out All Trash
- Including Human and Pet Waste and Toilet Paper
- Keep Pets Under Control
- Do Not Remove Archaeological Artifacts
How to Get There
Both Lubec and Eastport have municipal boat ramps, which offer all-tide access for hand-carry and motor boats. Small boats can land easily on the island’s southern shore on either side of the dike between Treat and Dudley Islands. Despite close proximity, access from both Lubec and Eastport is made challenging by very strong currents in this part of Passamaquoddy Bay.